If you don’t know what a Sandbox is, you can find more about them here: What are Sandboxes? If you do know what Sandboxes are, read on!

Creating a sandbox

Go to my.bettyblocks.com and click on your organization and app. 

  • You can open the Sandbox manager by clicking on your app name below “Sandbox Browser” and clicking the Sandbox Manager button.
  • When in the Sandbox Manager, click on the + Create a new Sandbox button.
  • Name the sandbox and set the identifier which will be used in the url of the sandbox.
  • After clicking FINISH, your sandbox will be created. This might take some time depending on the size of your application.
  • NOTE: Creating sandboxes is only allowed for admins in the organization.

Merging sandboxes

After applying all changes in your sandbox, it's time to push them to your production environment. In Betty Blocks, this is called merging.
Open the sandbox you are going to merge by selecting it in the sandbox browser as shown below:

When ready, click the MERGE CHANGES button. Merging will disable both the sandbox and the app that you are merging into for the duration of the merge. So merge at a moment that will affect other processes and users the least.

You can view current open changes by pressing the Show changes button before merging.

What will be merged

All changes made in your sandbox will be merged to your application except for the following items:

  • Values from configurations
  • Data from models that are not settings models
  • my.bettyblocks settings

You can view current open changes by pressing the Show changes button before merging.

Deleting a sandbox

When you want to delete a sandbox because you made an irreversible change or because you don't longer need it, you can open the Settings page of this sandbox.

On the settings page you will find a DELETE button underneath the Save button.

Enable settings model

Besides building pages, actions and your datamodel, records in the models can also be part of the structure of your app. Things about a set of data that would never change and be used in other processes. For example countries, languages or categories. You want this data to be identical in every (sandbox) environment of your application. This is where Settings models are used for. 

You can enable the settings model option in your app. You have to open the model in your Data Model and edit it. You will find a checkbox that says Is settings model. By checking this checkbox, the model will become a settings model and share its data between the main app and its sandboxes when merge.

Read how to use sandboxes for your DTAP street here.

Did this answer your question?