After reading this article you’ll know how to:
Save a new page component
Manage your saved components
Add a component to the store
Share your block with others
Maintain a block in the block store
This article explains how to save a new custom page component in the page builder and then share it via the block store. By learning to handle this feature, you will be able to experience an easy and fast way of obtaining reusable components. Moreover, it gives you the possibility to share them with other developers from different organizations.
Saving and sharing a new component
After you’ve finished customizing a component to your liking, click on it once to select this component from the canvas. The
Give the component a name, select an icon from the icon library, select an existing category or create your own. Below the category, see the
Managing your saved component
As the new component has been saved, it will become visible among other page components in the applications you shared it with. In our case, the ‘Custom card header’ is placed among the card components. You can distinguish it by the block store icon in the top left corner (which can be used to show the block’s info when pressed). If this icon is grey, it means that the block hasn’t been released yet.
When hovering the component in the sidebar you can open the menu of the saved component. Here you can edit the component settings to update the name, icon, and category, add the component to a block in the block store or delete it.
Setting the block’s permissions
After adding the component to the block store you will automatically be the owner of that block. This means that all components within the block will be available for you and all other owners of this block within all applications. The components will only be available for the owners of the block and not all other users within the application it was created.
Navigate to the block store via the store icon in the builder bar. When you are in the store you can search for the name of the block. If you are the owner of the block you will be able to find it under 'My Blocks'.
All block owners are able to change the permissions of the block. Here the owner can choose with what organization he wants to share the block. By default, the block is available to ‘Only owners’ while you can also choose to share it with the other organizations by choosing the 'Owners and organizations' option and entering their names in the field below and picking these organizations up from the dropdown list.
After updating the permissions of the block, it needs to be released for the changes to take effect. Released blocks shared with an organization will then be available for all users within that organization.
Maintaining the block
After you’ve shared your block with others, you may want to make sure it's used. It is recommended to give a description of the block about its contents and usage. Press on the default description, cover picture, or the block’s name to edit them (1).
Releasing a block will update the status in the info panel on the left (2) of your block management page. Adding or removing content in the block will mean a difference between what is available for the owners of the block and who the released content is shared with. This can be seen by the dev content changed indicator. Release the block again by clicking on an update to make sure the changes are available for all other users.
New components can be added to the existing block to offer a larger set of components or existing components can be updated (3).
Block content that is no longer being used can be removed. Any changes to the contents of the block will only be visible to the users after it has been released or updated. If any problems arise with the block or one of its components the owner can choose to un-release it (2) to prevent it from being used until the issue is resolved.